Frequently Asked Questions:
Why Should I Take the Class from ColoradoFirearmTraining?
We think there are a lot of reasons to select us for all your firearm training needs. Click here to see some of them. We encourage you to read our testimonials and check out our live reviews on Google.
Does This Class Include Everything Needed To Get My Permit?
Yes, it does. All of our classes include everything necessary for you to be eligible to apply for the Colorado state permit. Nothing else is required beyond our class.
Who Can Apply?
You must be a resident. (For purposes of this part 2, a person who is a member of the armed forces and is stationed pursuant to permanent duty station orders at a military installation in this state, and a member of the person's immediate family living in Colorado, shall be deemed to be a legal resident of the state of Colorado).
You must be 21 or older
You must pass the federal and state background check (More detail available in State Statute 18-12-203)
How long will I have to wait to receive my permit?
Time can vary, but state statue requires that the local sheriff either issue or deny your permit within 90 days. If denied, the sheriff is required to notify you with a written explanation.
What Does the Application Process Entail?
The application process varies some by county. Please reference this application quick reference guide.
Can I Take my Concealed Carry Class Online?
No. Effective July 1st 2013 Colorado law requires all classes to be taught in person.
How long is the class?
We schedule our classes for a 3 hour period. Classes can often go as long as 3 1/2 hours. Class time can vary depending on the size of the class, number of questions, etc.
Do I have to shoot a firearm for this class?
Range Time firing of a weapon is NOT required for this permit. Many local instructors offer classes that include range time but Colorado state law does not require it, nor does any local county or jurisdiction require it. We encourage students to find a class that they fill comfortable with.
What is Your Refund Policy? What If I Can't Attend the Class I Signed Up For?
We will refund students when unable to attend a class they have prepaid for. We ask for prepayment only to have a reliable count of how many students are coming. This has become necessary because we fill most of our classes to capacity. Our full refund policy can be see here.
What if I am not a Colorado Resident or don’t have a Colorado Driver’s License?
Currently Colorado only issues permits to Colorado state residents. Click here to read additional information for non-residents.
With a Colorado CCW what states may I carry in?
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Will my or can my neighbors, friends, employer find out I have a CCW?
No, Colorado’s CCW is NOT PUBLIC INFORMATION.
Must I have a firearm to take this class?
No firearms or ammunition are needed. We generally recommend students take the class before purchasing a weapon as you will receive instruction as it relates to selecting the best firearm for you.
Must I register my firearm when I receive my permit?
No, Firearms are not registered in Colorado.
What is the cost of the permit?
The state of Colorado requires $52.50 but the county where you apply will require an additional processing fee of up to $100. Both fees are collected at the time of application. For additional information specific to your county, call your county sheriff office.
What forms of payment will Colorado accept?
Payment methods will vary by county but money orders and cashiers checks are accepted everywhere. Learn more about your county here.
What forms of payment will ColoradoFirearmTraining.com accept for the course?
Cash, check, or credit card (Visa, or MasterCard). We prefer if you prepay online but should you feel uncomfortable you can call us to make other arrangements. 303-536-3384
If I have a Concealed Weapons Permit do I still have to get a background check to buy a firearm?
Yes. At this time, Colorado Concealed Weapon permits do not meet all the criteria to qualify for an exemption to the background check. That means even if you have a Colorado Concealed Weapon permit you must have a new background check every time you purchase a firearm. Out of state Concealed Weapons permit holders also need a background check to purchase a firearm in Colorado
Will my Permit Expire?
Yes, Colorado CCW Permits expire every 5 years.
How much will it cost to renew my permit?
The sheriff in each county or city and county in the state shall establish the amount of the new and renewal permit fees within his or her jurisdiction but the fee will not exceed $50.
Does getting a permit put into some sort of database?
The state of Colorado doesn't keep a database of users who have undergone a background check to purchase a firearm or obtain a concealed handgun permit. The individual counties in Colorado maintain their own database of permits they have issued but that information is not available to the general public. A more detailed over can be found here.
Colorado Bureau of Investigation
690 Kipling St. Suite 3000
Denver, Colorado 80215
Phone: (303) 239-5850